IS FORGIVING FORGETTING: Part II

I am also frequently asked, “Is forgiving forgetting?” Forgiveness is not always forgetting. I still remember some things from past, even though forgiveness has taken place. We have been taught that in order for you to truly forgive someone, you must force yourself not to remember what the person did to you. Forgiveness is not in the forgetting; it is in being free with a spirit of liberty. The grace of God gives us strength to forgive, but this can only be done through Jesus, who forgave us (Luke 23:34, Colossians 1:14).

It is an act of releasing another from an offense—refusing to enact the penalty due to him or her. Forgiving is refusing to let the offense affect the relationship. You move forward as though it never happened. Such forgiveness releases one from a sense of unresolved guilt, restores a clear conscience, and restores a relationship.

To forgive is to grant favor—to show kindness unconditionally. The Greek translation is charis; the root word is grace. Forgiveness is a choice to which you commit; you no longer hold the offense against the person. Though my offender has passed away, forgiveness allows me to remember him and his offenses free from anger or grief and with compassion. I now think of a man who was used by the enemy in a most noxious way, who needed deliverance from spiritual wickedness in a high place.

 You Have to Go to the Next Level

If there is no forgiveness, we cannot go to the next level, and God cannot forgive us of our sins. God cannot go against his own Word. Matthew 6:16 says, “For if you forgive men their trespasses, your heavenly Father will also forgive your trespasses, But if you do not forgive men their trespasses neither will you Father forgive your trespasses” (NIV).

This is another reason why we forgive; it is one of the most important. Imagine God not forgiving you of your sins and transgressions. Imagine if there was no grace to cover you. We could never make it to heaven. The carnal man would desire us to retaliate against our offenders and take matters in our own hands.

God avenges us against our enemies; He takes it personally. Our enemies are His enemies. He reminds them to call on the gods who have led them into the path of darkness. Here, God makes make it clear to Israel that there was no other God except Himself. He also tells them to rejoice in the trespasses; God will avenge the blood of His people—you and me. When we are hurt, God is hurt.

Scripture Read

  • (Deuteronomy 32:10
  • Deuteronomy 32:35-43 (KJV)
  • Psalm 17:8; 51:11
  • Luke 23:34
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Check Tool

Posted by Tarran Carter

CLICK HERE – Order today “Emotionally Wounded Spiritually Strong: Victim No More – 7 healing prescriptions

4 thoughts on “IS FORGIVING FORGETTING: Part II

  1. To night God answer a question Pastor, while He was ministering to me about me.. I always ask God to show me~me. I ask why do I stay up so late at night I can take a nap in the day but at night I might not go to bed until about 2-4am up studying the word or watching t.v praying etc.. and get up not even tired for years I have done this, I can remember being young and being the same way just laying in my bed eyes wide open and I would sleep late all day sometimes. even get jobs at night so I can sleep allday I’m not on drugs anymore so that doesn’t keep me up, I’m not dealing with any stress or demons, there’s no unclean spirits in my home so Lord what is it? And He told me Pastor…
    That I’m still protecting myself. When my father did what he did to me, I would stay up all night watching to make sure he didn’t come in my room and get me when I was sleep, at night he was home and he could get me, in the day he was at work so I could relax and sleep. Now I’m not old but my body needs to rest I feel it in my body sometimes that it needs rest, I can see it in my eyes. I don’t have the drugs to help me stay up anymore, God just wanton to let me know I’m safe now. He even gave this word to me Pastor, I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, LORD, only makest me dwell in safety. When you ask Him to show you about your self He dose, I love Him so much because I didn’t even know all these years why I stayed up like I did I got deliverance Pastor I’m safe now. Good night!

    1. When we seek the Lord He answers and deliverance comes. I am so blessed when the people of God–my sisters and daughers in Christs are free.

      This is a blessing… rest the in the Lord. Keep reading the Psalms. I also had to read Psalms 4 for years. God does come to deliver. Great is thy faithfulness to us.

Leave a Reply

