Loosed From a Generational Captivity

Many situations and relationships are designed to hold you captive–unaware. Most in general, at first, you may not be aware of the fortress of despair until you are well in.  I believe I am equipped to elaborate on this. I believe I have experience in God as an overcomer of abuse. Quinn’s theory states:

If you drop a frog in a pot of boiling water, it will of course frantically try to clamber out. But if you place it gently in a pot of tepid water and turn the heat on low, it will float there quite placidly. As the water gradually heats up, the frog will sink into a tranquil stupor, exactly like one of us in a hot bath, and before long, with a smile on its face, it will unresistingly allow itself to be boiled to death.

The story is often used as a metaphor for the inability of people to react to significant changes that occur gradually. According to contemporary biologists the premise of the story is not literally true; a frog submerged and gradually heated will jump out. However, some 19th-century experiments suggested that the underlying premise is true, provided the heating is sufficiently gradual. —http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boiling_frog

The trepidation of how ones life will turn out is a reality for some. As a childhood, I experienced verbal, physical, and sexual abuse. Although I was captive to the powers that be in my home, and held in the fortress of despair, I chose not to be the poster child. I believed God to heal me and He did.

The transition of a college into motherhood was pivotal–it was the turning point in my life. I had just experienced a major shift–to leave home, and  I was shook. Although I envisioned my dreams, a successful designer and illustrator, I was fearful to raise and protect this beautiful and innocent little girl.

I was fearful as a young woman, but the Lord blessed me to take courage. I can recall a beautiful sunny day. The weather was perfect as the morning breeze brought comfort on a hot summer day. While waiting for the bus, as tears began to stream down my checks, I began to talk to God, I was pregnant and afraid. Because of what I was subjugated to, I did not want to subject my child to such pain. That day, as the busses rolled into the station, I ask God to teach me how to be the mother He called me to be.

At that time, I wasn’t sure who I was. Surely, I didn’t know the plan and thoughts God had for me. All I knew was that this child would have to eat, have a safe place to live, and always be loved and protected from the diabolical ordinances I once dealt with as a child. I had to be courages, I couldn’t give up now. This beautiful little girl was subject to my decisions. I had a responsibility–to provide the best for her.

Since that prayer, God has counseled me on motherhood and how to be the affectionate and loving mother and wife. Glory be to God, He has honored my request.

Dale Qunn’s theory does have validity. Domestic violence reaches its first start with a yell, advancing to a push, exasperating to a slap, which will culminate into sudden tragedy. Many men and women find themselves in such crises and wonder how do they escape this fortress. The fortress is the holding place of your soul, which is your spirit. It is designed to hold you hostage that you never leave such abuse. Its motive is capitulation and cowardice of irascible behavior. Every time you contemplate to leave, the enemy sets up counsel with your mind and again you believe there is hope for a change–you become immune.

If family is involved, and they accept or make excuse for the abuser, they can also be the nemesis for your fear or dubious efforts to walk out. Usually, their family has suffered and succumbed to several generations of abuse–generational curse. Either they were abused, or captive to witness the acts and experienced the behavior as the second victim.

During one of our fast and much praying, I had a vision of my husband and I setting the captive free. I visualized my husband and I standing in the vestibule of a large church, with the victim– a beautiful young women. She was walking in front of us toward the exit. As the young woman walked through the vestibule and through the double doors, my husband I followed her. As we guarded her, there were watchmen on the wall guarding us. This was powerful! Our church has actually set watchman on the wall to pray during the evening and early morning prayer watch hours, and while they are praying, there is another set of watchman supernaturally interceding and guarding them throughout the night and early morning watches.

In the vision I focused on a large church with large double doors; erect white columns; and a number of steps leading down to the street. Through the vestibule, we continued to follow with confidence. On each side; from the vestibule and down the steps, some holding, stoic the railing, I saw generations of the offender’s family. They were all watching as this young women was being set free. The young were stationed at the top of the stairs while the elderly, great-great-grandmothers was at the bottom. All were peering as we walked by safely. Every step the young woman took, represented authority. Every step taken yokes were being destroyed off her life and burdens lifted. She was taking back her life and the enemy could not hinder or prohibit her release. Whom the Son sets free is free indeed.

This vision depicts that prayer and fasting looses the hold of the enemy. Its’ connotation is that generational curses can be broken and the captive, no matter what, can be set free. Some of our blessings, the devil has on locked down for generations. But today, I command a release. I decree and declare that by the anointing all covenants, contracts, chains, fetters, bondages, proclivities, and captivities that are contrary to oppose, or hinder God’s original plan and purpose in the life of the believer are broken.

Leave a Reply

