LIFE


LIFE Magazine‘s purpose was to capture some amazing events. It’s founding editor, Henry Luce gave his description of the magazine’s mission, written in 1936, which resonates for more than half a century later:

“To see life; to see the world; to eyewitness great events; to watch the faces of the poor and the gestures of the proud; to see strange things — machines, armies, multitudes, shadows in the jungle and on the moon; to see man’s work — his paintings, towers and discoveries; to see things thousands of miles away, things hidden behind walls and within rooms, things dangerous to come to; the women men love and many children; to see and to take pleasure in seeing; to see and be amazed; to see and be instructed….”    

Life is the sequence of physical and mental experiences that make up the existence of an individual. It is the period from an event until death, and within the hyphen there is much that takes place. It is not known how many questions a person may ask in a lifetime, but we know there are several.  Jesus had many events, He exclaimed that the world (Bible) could not contain all of His events.

After reflecting from this thought, I had a question, why do people do what they do? After assessing ones life, some things are just life, other things–endless cycles. I watched an amazing movies last night  “Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close.” The cast was: Tom Hanks, Sandra Bullock, Viola Davis and more.
It was a great storyline–a young boys who has some form of autism, learns to deal with  the pain of his father dying on 9-11. It was a tear jerker..

The movie provoked much thought. I thought about how my husband still misses his father, who passed away more than 20-years ago. It’s palpable that on his fathers birthday there are indelible memories. The assurance of joy is that God does give solace during these times.

Although a love one has passed on from this earthly life, if you had a relationship with them, you may still be able to remember the sound of their voice. Take a moment to think about it; you may hear their laughter, typical discourse of the day, etc.

Thinking on these things, I had a moment. I realized that I never had that experience, I never heard my father’s voice.  Some have never had the opportunity to meet the seed giver, and, or the incubator; dad-or mom — the reason why they exist.

Things happen, I thought. How devastating is it to never meet a parent due to vicissitude circumstances, death, or narcissistic life styles. My heart was sore as I wiped the tears away from my cheeks. Issues of life are real and sometimes they hurt. My peace was God, He reminded me that although my dad walked away without ever meeting me, I was precious in the sight of God; I then smiled.

Many times people do what they do because as a child, there may have been trauma. Quintessentially, decisions and reactions are from empirical observations, and residue of prerequisites from their past. Reactions my even be a subjected view of life’s circumstances. The symptoms are insecurities, pathological diseases, addictions, etc., some leading to endless cycles.

My prayer is healing from all traumatic experience. I decree, we are not subjugated to the past. Unequivocally; we are free to move forward in victory; no setbacks  and no delays.
(Excerpt from http://www.life.com,  Time Inc., 2002)

Leave a Reply

